Nuevo Culture

Shakira Responds to Bad Bunny’s New Song – Is a Collaboration Coming?

Could there be a potential Shakira and Bad Bunny collaboration soon? On Oct. 17, the Colombian superstar responded to Bad Bunny’s nadie sabe lo que va a pasar mañana’s verse about men making money. Social media users are now hoping for a new song featuring the two Latine music icons.

Benito’s newest rap album has been the talk of the week. From the alleged diss at J Balvin during the Eladio Carrión-assisted “THUNDER Y LIGHTNING” to the fan-speculated reference to Karol G about bichotas, the album has a lot of layers to uncover. One of the most talked about verses is from the Puerto Rican’s new song “LOS PITS,” where he says: “Bad Bunny en la cima, se tienen que acostumbrar / Ahora los hombres lloran, sí, pero sin parar de facturar / Papá Dios me ayuda sin tener que madrugar [Bad Bunny on top, they’ve got to get used to it / Now men cry, yeah, but they don’t stop making money / Papa Dios helps me without having to get up early].”

The line seemingly echoes Shakira’s hit collaboration “BZRP Music Sessions #53” with Bizarrap. During one of the song’s verses, she says: “Te creíste que me heriste y me volviste más dura / Las mujeres ya no lloran, las mujeres facturan [You thought you hurt me but you made me stronger / Women don’t cry anymore, women make money].” 

Yesterday (Oct. 18), the “TQG” singer responded to Bad Bunny, saying: “Let’s make money together then @badbunnypr,” in an Instagram story post with El Conejo Malo’s new lyrics.

Fans have a lot to say about a potential collaboration. A social media user wrote: “I don’t like Bad Bunny but a Shakira ft Bad Bunny collaboration would break all records 🔥.” Another X user wrote: “Shakira wants to collaborate with Bad Bunny. The biggest names in the urban genre today, together. They are going to make history.”

Though we don’t know if a collaboration is on the horizon, we know that Shakira is dropping a new album in 2024. We’ll have to wait and see if a Bad Bunny collab makes the tracklist.