Nuevo Culture

Café Tacvba, Tego Calderón & More Nominated to Enter the National Recording Registry

Jenni Rivera, Tego Calderón, Café Tacvba, Shakira, and Maná are among the artists nominated to the National Recording Registry at the Library of Congress. On Oct. 1, the Congressional Hispanic Caucus and U.S. Rep. Joaquin Castro (D-Texas) nominated a total of 35 songs and albums by Latine artists to be considered for the National Recording Registry as part of his initiative to improve Latine representation and visibility in American media. 

“The National Recording Registry’s very existence speaks to the important role that music plays in American culture and society,” Congressman Castro wrote in the nomination letter. “The scarceness of Latino artists in our country’s recording legacy has wide-reaching implications on how Latinos are perceived in American society.”

He continued: “Latino music and its influence can be found across languages, geographical boundaries, and genres. Latino artists, through their musical contributions, have marked all aspects of American life and are worth celebrating and preserving.”

The 35 selections include “Como la Flor” by Selena (1992), “Rinconcito en el Cielo” by Ramón Ayala (1985), and “El Rey” by Vicente Fernández (1991). It also includes “Oye Mi Amor” by Maná (1992), “Amor Eterno” by Juan Gabriel (1984), “Ahora Te Puedes Marchar” by Luis Miguel (1987), “Basta Ya” by Jenni Rivera (2001), and “Eres” by Café Tacvba (2003). Music by Tego Calderón, Jennifer Lopez, and Shakira are also up for consideration. Tego Calderón’s El Abayarde (2002), Jennifer Lopez’s “Waiting for Tonight” (1999), and Shakira’s “Whenever, Wherever” (2001) are also up for consideration.

The rest of the nominations are as follows: Diamonds and Rust by Joan Baez (1975), How Will the Wolf Survive? by Los Lobos (1984), “Juancito Trucupey” by Celia Cruz (1956), “Las Nubes” by Little Joe y La Familia (1972), and “Before the Next Teardrop Falls” by Freddy Fender (1974). Other selections: “(Hey Baby) Que Paso” by Texas Tornados (1990), “Oye Cómo Va” by Tito Puente (1962), “Talk to Me” by Sunny and the Sunliners (2012), “She’s All I Ever Had” by Ricky Martin (1999), “Genie in a Bottle” by Christina Aguilera (1999), and “Conga” by Gloria Estefan and Miami Sound Machine (1985). 

The list also features: “Juana La Cubana” by Fito Olivares (1996), “Mi Gente” by Héctor Lavoe (1975), “Feliz Navidad” by José Feliciano (1970), “El Coco Rayado” by Ruben Vela (1994), “The Glamorous Life” by Sheila E. (1984), “Lost in Emotion” by Lisa Lisa & Cult Jam (1987), and “It Must Be Him” by Vikki Carr (1967). “Oye Mi Canto” by N.O.R.E. ft. Tego Calderón, Nina Sky, Gemstar & Big Mato (2006), “Come and Get It” by Selena Gomez (2013), “Rica y Apretadita” by El General ft. Anayka (1995), “Yo Voy” by Zion and Lennox ft. Daddy Yankee (2004), Eco de Sombras by Susana Baca (1989), and “Propuesta Indecente” by Romeo Santos (2013) are also nominated. 

Though the list is extensive, only a few songs and albums get selected each year. Last year, only two out of his 33 nominations“Gasolina by Daddy Yankee and “Flashdance…What a Feeling” by Irene Cara – were selected and inducted into the National Recording Registry. Still, as of 2023, less than five percent of the 600 titles on the registry were recorded by Latine musicians.

“I look forward to continuing to work together to expand diversity and Latino representation across the Library of Congress…” he wrote at the end of the letter. “Your mission – of highlighting and preserving American stories – has never been more important.”