Nuevo Culture

Carín León

Carín León Unveils Tracklist and Cover for New Album ‘Boca Chueca Vol.1’

Carín León’s new album is set to drop on May 30, and it promises to break from tradition, as the Mexican star.

Boca Chueca Vol. 1 will be available at 8 p.m. ET on May 30, featuring 19 tracks, including bilingual collaborations with country stars Kane Brown and Leon Bridges, as well as Latin icons like ranchera legend Pepe Aguilar and Mexican rock band Panteón Rococo. Check out the full tracklist below.

The real difference, according to León, starts with the album cover, a surreal painting that shows a close-up of León’s face, with a sinister-looking hand holding his mouth open in a crooked grimace, reflecting the album’s title, “Boca Chueca,” which translates to “Crooked Mouth.” This title symbolizes the album’s content, León explains. “What we aimed to highlight on the cover was the challenges faced by artists who are constantly in the spotlight,” León said in a voice note. “All the fears they carry from the past contribute to the music and art we create as artists. Making this album was like embracing and reconciling with many things people consider bad but are also part of you. The cover has a dark look, which in a way reflects us and speaks to the album’s reinvention. It includes bolder language and more street vocabulary. Boca Chueca is connected to the less refined side of Oscar Armando,” León said, referring to his real name, Oscar Armando Díaz de León.

The cover art of Boca Chueca was designed by Alan Ortega, a member of León’s band who plays the pedal steel guitar and is also a painter. He also created the surreal cover of León’s album Colmillo de Leche, which depicts León with a lion’s head.

Boca Chueca Vol. 1 follows León’s previous album, Colmillo, which peaked at No. 8 last year on Top Latin Albums chart. Since then, León has been gaining traction as one of the leading regional Mexican music stars, touring arenas and performing at festivals like Stagecoach.

His new tour, also named Boca Chueca, begins on July 22 and includes stops at Madison Square Garden and, in an unusual move for a Mexican act, at Wizink Center in Madrid.

As for Vol. 2 of Boca Chueca, there’s no word yet on its release date, but it’s implied that it won’t be long. Here is the full tracklist of Boca Chueca, Vol. 1.

1.⁠ ⁠”Cuando la vida sea trago”
2.⁠ “⁠Otra vez”
3.⁠ ⁠”Casi oficial”
4.⁠ ⁠”Frené mis pies”
5.⁠ ⁠”Círculo vicioso”
6.⁠ ⁠”Que haga el paro”
7.⁠ ⁠”Bebé no cambies tú”
8.⁠ “⁠⁠Por eso bye”
9.⁠ ⁠”Qué feo se siente el amor”
10.⁠ ⁠”No sé” con Panteón Rococó
11.⁠ “⁠The One (Pero no como yo)” con Kane Brown
12.⁠ ⁠”Lamentablemente” con Pepe Aguilar
13.⁠ ⁠⁠”Aviso importante” con Bolela
14.⁠ “⁠It Was Always You (Siempre fuiste tú)” con Leon Bridges
15.⁠ ⁠”Banqueteras”
16.⁠ “⁠⁠1”
17.⁠ ⁠”Aunque tú no lo sepas”
18.⁠ ⁠”Por culpa de un tercero”
19.⁠ ⁠”Despídase bien”